https://marcilhacgalerie.com/marci_data/upload/files/MUSIQUE/Mozart Le nozze di Figaro Act 2.mp3

FÉLIX AGOSTINI (1910-1980)

$Félix Agostini was born in 1910 in Paris. This self-taught drawer and wanderer of the imagination raised his flag very high in the twentieth century landscape, by the abstract, stylized and surrealist seal of his lamps and sculptures.

Aged 24, he was hired as an illustrator by the printer Draeger, a position he thrived in and fulfilled beyond requests. Miscellaneous collaborations with Peugot, Ford, Ducretet, Thomson, Andrex and Chanel (printed fabrics) staked the path of his early career.  Agostini consecutively founded his own atelier where his first wrought iron, ceramics and bronzes model were imagined and undertaken and further predicated his attachment to the aesthetic of his day by designing an hommage piecework to Alberto and Diego Giacometti : « L’Echassier ». Only from 1955 did he start to sculpt with gypsum, the prototypes of his most renowned creations (thereafter cast in bronze). The latter, impregnated with the aerial and celestial fantasies of the artists, are enchantments peopled by marvelous birds and stars.

Galerie Cusin in Mougins (Maritim Alps) became the prime location and meeting place for Agostini’s dearest clients.

Felix Agostini disappeared on 19th February 1980, at the Clinique du Val d’Or in Saint-Cloud. His two-hundred pieces great work loses nothing to the evanescence of time but rather, improves itself gently.

https://marcilhacgalerie.com/marci_data/upload/files/MUSIQUE/Nocturne_light.mp3

FÉLIX AGOSTINI (1910-1980)

Paris, 1910 - Saint-Cloud, 1980

Félix Agostini naquit en 1910 à Paris. Autodidacte dès son plus jeune age, il brilla par ses exceptionnels dons pour le dessin et frappa le XXème siècle moderniste du sceau abstrait, stylisé et surréaliste de ses luminaires et sculptures.

A 24 ans, l’imprimeur Draeger l’embauche en tant que dessinateur publicitaire et il prospère, notamment grâce à ses travaux pour les marques Peugeot, Ford, Ducretet, Thomson, Andrex et Chanel (tissus imprimés). Il fonda successivement son propre atelier de travail où ses premiers modèles en fer forgé, céramique, puis bronzes virent le jour. Ses nombreuses collaborations avec Alberto et Diego Giacometti furent le thème d’une pièce-hommage, l’« Echassier », reprenant l’allure sobre et élancée de leur mobilier aux tiges de bronze patinées. Ces derniers, imprégnés des fantaisies aériennes et céleste des artistes, sont des enchantements peuplés d'oiseaux merveilleux et d’étoiles. La Galerie Cusin de Mougins (Alpes Maritimes) est devenue le lieu de rencontre privilégié des clients les plus chers d’Agostini. Ce n'est qu'à partir de 1955, qu'il sculpta en plâtre les modèles de ses luminaires les plus connus, tirés en bronze par la suite.

Félix Agostini s'éteignit le 19 février 1980, à la clinique du Val d'Or de Saint-Cloud. Son oeuvre, constitué de plus de 200 pièces, ne perd rien à l’évanescence du temps mais bien au contraire, s’y bonifie délicatement.